

SCEH Recognizes Achievements in the Hypnosis Community

On Friday, March 26, 2021, the Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis held an online awards event to shine light upon and publicly recognize achievements within the hypnosis community. Hosted by SCEH President, Janna Henning, JD, PsyD, FT and Gary Elkins, PhD, ABPP, ABPH, Nominations Chair and Past President, the ceremony acknowledged the contributions of winners in the areas of clinical hypnosis education, hypnosis research, publication and SCEH programs and activities that advanced the organization's mission to promote excellence and progress in the field.

The 2020 SCEH Nominating Committee was chaired by Gary Elkins, PhD, and included Committee Members **David Reid, PsyD** and **Devin Terhune, PhD**. Nominations were sourced via a member Call for Awards, with final selections judged by the committee.

SCEH celebrates the work of our winners and expresses our admiration and gratitude in the following areas to this year's winners:

- The Ernest R. and Josephine R. Hilgard Award for Best Theoretical Paper on Hypnosis to Simona Stefan & Daniel David in recognition of their paper, "Mindfulness in Therapy: A Critical Analysis" published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, 69(2), 167-182.
- The Henry Guze Award for Best Research Paper on Hypnosis to Maren Jasmin Cordi, Laurent Rossier & Björn Rasch in recognition of their paper, "Hypnotic Suggestions Given Before Nighttime Sleep Extend Slow-Wave Sleep as Compared to a Control Text in Highly Hypnotizable Subjects" published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, 69(1), 105-129.

(continued on next page)

Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis 305 Commandants Way - Commoncove Suite 100 Chelsea, MA 02150-4057

- The Roy M. Dorcus Award for Best Paper in Clinical Hypnosis to Olafur Palsson, Stefanie Twist & Marcia Walker in recognition of their paper, "A National Survey of Clinical Hypnosis Views and Experiences of the Adult Population in the United States" published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, 68(4), 428-448.
- The Crasilneck Award for the best first paper presented by a graduate student or young scientist at a SCEH meeting to Hyeji Na, PsyD for her paper, "A Pilot Study of Hypnotic Relaxation Therapy to Enhance Well-Being in College Students".
- The **Reviewer of the Year Award** for significant contribution to our peer-reviewed quarterly, the *International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis* to **Giuseppe De Benedittis.**
- The **Stanley Krippner Award** in recognition for her significant contribution to the field of hypnosis made by a student or early career professional, to **Shelagh Freedman.**
- The **Arthur Shapiro Award** for the Best Book in Hypnosis to **Gary Elkins and Nicholas Olendzki** in recognition of their book, *Mindful Hypnotherapy: The Basics*for Clinical Practice from the Springer Publishing Company.
- The **Erika Fromm Award** for Excellence in Teaching to **Eleanor Laser** for excellence in teaching clinical hypnosis.
- The **Shirley Schneck Award** to the physician who has made significant contributions to medical hypnosis, to **Claude Virot, MD** for international contributions to medical hypnosis.
- The Bernard B. Raginski Award for Leadership and Achievement to Janna Henning, JD, PsyD, FT, for her tireless work as SCEH undertook an update of its organizational bylaws, and for her dedication and leadership in the field of clinical hypnosis.

(continued on next page)

In addition, Janna Henning, SCEH President, singled out a number of individuals for **Presidential Citations** as follows:

- Ciara Christensen, PhD in recognition of her leadership, energy and dedication as a 2020 SCEH Annual Conference Co-chairs, effectively pivoting a complex major event, and delivering an outstanding first virtual annual conference for the Society.
- David Reid, PsyD in recognition of his leadership, energy and dedication as a 2020 SCEH Annual Conference Co-chairs, effectively pivoting a complex major event, and delivering an outstanding first virtual annual conference for the Society.
- Anne Doherty Johnson in recognition of her contributions to our hypnosis community as our Executive Director, and in particular this past year, for pivoting our annual live format conference to an outstanding online event.
- Don Moss, PhD in recognition of his dedicated service and commitment to hypnosis as chair of the SCEH Education Committee, and for hands-on efforts in organizing the SCEH Midyear Workshops and popular SCEH Webinar Series.
- Gary Elkins, PhD, ABPP, ABPH in recognition of his role as Editor of the
 International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, for successful
 publication management in modernizing and streamlining the submission and
 editorial review process, and for outstanding commitment to empirical research.
- Barb McCann, PhD in recognition of securing a sizable financial donation for SCEH (being used for student and early career scholarships to our annual conference), as well as for tireless work in co-chairing the Introductory Workshops and Scientific Program for our 2020 Annual Conference.
- Zoltan Kekecs, PhD in recognition of his tireless efforts to launch and grow a Mentorship Program for the Society, designed to foster the next generation of leaders in our field.

(continued on next page)

SCEH 2020 Award Winners, Page 2 of 4

- Sam Stork, MSCP in recognition of his outstanding work as Editor of FOCUS, our quarterly newsletter and delivering a high quality, timely publication to our members.
- Madeline Stein, MA in recognition of her consistent efforts to grow awareness about the Society, its programs and the field of hypnosis via our Facebook page and social media, and her excellent work on our Marketing Committee.

More information on the SCEH Awards Program can be found at www.sceh.us/awards. A Call for Nominations for the 2021 SCEH Awards Program will be issued later this year. For more information, contact SCEH at info@sceh.us.