

SCEH Recognizes Achievements in the Hypnosis Community

SCEH celebrates the work of our 2019 winners and expresses our admiration and gratitude to this year's winners:

- Ernest R. & Josephine R. Hilgard Award for Best Theoretical Paper on Hypnosis is presented to Jean-Remi Martin for his paper "Alterations of agency in hypnosis: A new predictive coding model". Psychological Review, 2019 Jan;126(1):133-152
- Roy M. Dorcus Award for Best Paper in Clinical Hypnosis is presented to Trevor Thompson;
 Devin B.Terhune; Charlotte Oram; Joseph Sharangparni; Rommana Rouf; Marco Solmi;
 Nicola Veronese and Brendon Stubbs for their paper "The effectiveness of hypnosis for pain relief: A systematic review and meta-analysis of 85 controlled experimental trials."
 Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews, 2019 Apr; 99:298-310
- **Henry Guze Award** for Best Research Paper on Hypnosis is presented to **Vince Polito**, **PhD** for his paper "Hypnotic clever hands: Agency and automatic responding". Journal of Experimental Psychology: General 2018 Jun;147 (6):815-828. doi: 10.1037/xge0000451
- Shirley Schneck Award is presented to Nicole Ruysschaert, MD in recognition of her significant contributions to the development of medical hypnosis
- Arthur Shapiro Award for Best Book in Hypnosis is presented to Joseph P. Green, PhD and Steven Jay Lynn, PhD for their book Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, Mindfulness, and Hypnosis for Smoking Cessation: A Scientifically Informed Intervention. Wiley-Blackwell November, 2018.
- Erika Fromm Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented to Amir Raz, PhD

Presidential Awards

Presidential Awards were given to:

- Gary Elkins, PhD, ABPP, ABPH for leadership in the field of hypnosis and work as editor of the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis
- Samuel Stork and Flavio Epstein in recognition of their dedicated service and accomplishments as co-editors of the Society's quarterly newsletter, Focus.

(continued)

Living Human Treasure Awards

Living Human Treasure Awards were given to:

- **Jeffrey K. Zeig, PhD** in recognition of his contributions to training and education in the fields of hypnosis and psychotherapy
- Eva Banyai, PhD in recognition of her contributions to hypnosis training and research in Hungary and throughout the world
- Irving Kirsch, PhD in recognition of his contributions to the theoretical framework of hypnosis

FELLOW

• **Karen Olness, MD** having satisfied the professional requirements of the Society and in recognition of decades of dedication to the well-being of the children of the world has been elected FELLOW with all the rights and privileges appertaining thereto.